Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting
New Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting Requirement for Community College Employees
Beginning on January 1, 2013 all Oregon community college employees will become mandatory child abuse reporters. This requirement passed by the Oregon Legislature as a part of HB 4016 (2012) adds community college and university employees to the list of public and private officials who are required to report suspected cases of child abuse under Oregon law. The duty to report suspected child abuse cases as a mandatory reporter is a 24-hour-a-day, 7 day-a-week responsibility. This legal duty is personal to the individual community college employee and applies whether or not they are on work time.
Community college employees must report when they have “reasonable cause to believe” that any child with whom they come in contact has suffered abuse or that any person with whom they come in contact has abused a child. They must immediately report the suspected abuse or abuser to local law enforcement or the local Department of Human Services office.
Please see the Frequently Asked Questions link for more information about this new duty as a mandatory reporter.
- Link to DHS Video - http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/abuse/mandatory_report.shtml
- Link to local DHS/law enforcement contact numbers - http://cms.oregon.gov/dhs/children/pages/abuse/cps/cw_branches.aspx