Subscribe to the OCCA newsletter
(Check your email/spam folder for a confirmation link after submission)

* indicates required
Email Format


Guided Pathways

  • Infographic - coming soon
  • AACC Report - coming 

Assessment of Student Learning Outcomes and Accreditation - April 13, 2017

Assessment of student learning outcomes is critical to continuous improvement of teaching and learning in higher education. It is helpful to think of the assessment of student learning outcomes at three distinct levels: The course level, the program/credential level and the institution level. Assessment across these three levels combines to help create a culture of continuous improvement and a comprehensive picture of student learning at the institution. This document provides a brief description of each level of assessment of student learning outcomes, identifies key NWCCU standards, elements, and criteria related to each level of assessment, and provides a list of resources college faculty and staff can use to find additional information to support their assessment efforts. The document should not be considered complete or exhaustive, but rather should be used as a starting point for improving assessment of student learning outcome.