## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Dr. Cam Preus, Executive Director

cam@occa17.com, 503-559-5511

## Oregon Community College Association announces officers, committee membership

SALEM, Ore. – Treasure Valley Community College Board of Education member Stephen Crow is now the President of the Oregon Community College Association (OCCA) Board of Directors for 2020-21. He assumed the president role after Ron Fox of Rogue Community College, who was elected to the position in May, unexpectedly passed away over the summer.

The OCCA Board is comprised of the presidents of each of the 17 Oregon community colleges, as well as a Board of Education member from each. Crow has served on the Treasure Valley Community College board since 2017, as well as has been TVCC's representative on the OCCA Board. He is the owner of two salons and consultant for a skincare product, and lives in Ontario.

"I'm honored to step into this role, and hope to do so with the same dedication as Ron Fox would have done," Crow said. "Oregon's community colleges are more important than ever to the recovery of the state's economy and workforce, so I'm excited to be a part of the effort as President of the OCCA."

The 2020-21 OCCA Vice President is Kim Morgan from Columbia Gorge Community College. Clatsop Community College President Chris Breitmeyer will serve as secretary, while Portland Community College President Mark Mitsui will serve as treasurer. Annette Mattson, a board member from Mt. Hood Community College who was OCCA President in 2019-20, will now serve as Past President for 2020-21.

One of Crow's first duties as Board President was to appoint Board members to standing committees for the year:

**Member Services**: This committee, chaired by the Board Vice President, has a primary role to develop education and training programs and services for the benefit of OCCA Board of Directors, the district board of education members of OCCA member colleges, and emerging Oregon community college leaders. Membership for 2020-21 includes:

Kim Morgan, Chair, CGCC Board, OCCA VP Annette Mattson, MHCC Board, OCCA Past President Jane Reid, Clackamas Board Marcia Jensen, SOCC Board Tony Turner, BMCC Board Gina Roper, TVCC staff

Marta Cronin, CGCC President
Jessica Howard, Chemeketa President
Ross Tomlin, TBCC President
Dana Young, TVCC President
Lori Hall, Clackamas CC Staff
Amanda Kliever, LBCC staff

**Nominating**: This committee proposes nominees for the following academic year's slate of officers for the OCCA Board of Directors. Membership for 2020-21 includes:

Ed Dodson, Chair, Chemeketa Board

Doris Lathrop, UCC Board

Stephen Crow, TVCC Board, OCCA President Patty Scott, SOCC President Annette Mattson, MHCC Board, OCCA Past President

Cathy Kemper-Pell, RCC President Tony Turner, BMCC Board

**Budget**: Chaired by the OCCA Treasurer, this committee reviews and makes recommendations to OCCA staff about the OCCA budget, as well as reviews with staff the annual audit of the Association's financial statements. Membership for 2020-21 includes:

Mark Mitsui, Chair, PCC President, OCCA Treasurer Stephen Crow, TVCC Board, OCCA President Kim Morgan, CGCC Board, OCCA VP Alan Unger, COCC Board Chris Breitmeyer, Clatsop CC, OCCA Secretary Tim Cook, Clackamas President Jess Jacobs, LBCC Staff Diane McKeel, MHCC Board

**Legislative**: This committee, which also includes members of community college affinity groups with expertise and knowledge of legislative affairs, advocacy and strategic communications, makes recommendations to OCCA staff about OCCA statewide legislative advocacy efforts. Membership for 2020-21 includes:

Annette Mattson, MHCC Board, OCCA Past President Melanie Muenzer, LCC Board Chris Breitmeyer, Clatsop President, OCCA Secretary Kim Morgan, CGCC Board, OCCA VP Brett Rowlett, LCC Staff Jennifer Boehmer, LBCC Staff Cathy Kemper-Pelle, RCC President, OPC Chair Ed Dodson, Chemeketa Board Mark Mitsui, PCC President, OCCA Treasurer Laurie Chesley, COCC President Emma Kallaway, PCC Staff Lori Hall, Clackamas Staff

**Howard Cherry Nominating**: This committee makes recommendations for the annual Howard Cherry Awards, which is given to those who, by their contribution to the community college cause in Oregon, have brought recognition to community colleges statewide. Membership for 2020-21 includes:

Kim Morgan, CGCC Board, OCCA VP Tim Cook, Clackamas President Alan Unger, COCC Board Patty Scott, SOCC President Chris Breitmeyer, Clatsop, OCCA Secretary
Jessica Howard, Chemeketa President
Richard Emory, OCCC Board
Betsy McMahon, TBCC Board

The OCCA represents the seventeen publicly chartered community colleges and their locally elected board members with the purpose of supporting the colleges before policy-makers and partners whose actions affect the well-being of community colleges across the state.

## ###

## **Member Colleges**

Blue Mountain Community College (BMCC)
Central Oregon Community College (COCC)
Chemeketa Community College
Clackamas Community College
Clatsop Community College
Columbia Gorge Community College (CGCC)
Klamath Community College (KCC)
Lane Community College (LCC)
Linn-Benton Community College (LBCC)

Southwestern Oregon Community College (SOCC)
Tillamook Bay Community College (TBCC)
Treasure Valley Community College (TVCC)
Umpqua Community College (UCC)

Mt. Hood Community College (MHCC)
Oregon Coast Community College (OCCC)
Portland Community College (PCC)
Rogue Community College (RCC)