

November 10, 2020

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Casey White-Zollman, Communications Director

casey@occa17.com | 503-502-5642

## Community college board members, leaders honored

SALEM, Ore. – Community college board members and leaders from throughout the state were honored Friday, Nov. 6, during the Howard Cherry Awards Ceremony at the Oregon Community College Association's (OCCA) Annual Conference, which was held virtually.

The Howard Cherry Awards honor and celebrate the contributions that local community college advocates, administrators and board members have made to the benefit of community colleges. On Friday, 14 people were honored with the Dedicated Service Award for board members, one with the Chuck Clemans Award, and two with the Howard Cherry Award.

"We are proud to honor and thank these wonderful individuals who have invested their time and talent in assuring the success of Oregon's community colleges," said Dr. Cam Preus, Executive Director of the OCCA.

The Chuck Clemans Award was presented posthumously to the family of **Ron Fox, a Rogue Community College** board member who was elected as the OCCA Board President in July 2020 and passed away suddenly over the summer. The Chuck Clemans Award was created in 2015 in honor of the late Dr. Charles "Chuck" Clemans, a longtime former Clackamas Community College board member and OCCA President. The award is intended for current or former OCCA board members who have shown exceptional dedication to and support of the OCCA and its advocacy efforts.

The Howard Cherry Award for Outstanding Board Member went to **Annette Mattson of Mt. Hood Community College**, who served as the 2019-2020 OCCA Board President. The Howard Cherry Award for Outstanding Administrator went to **Dana Young, President of Treasure Valley Community College** in Ontario.

Dedicated Service Awards honor community college board members who have given at least 8 years of service to their respective boards. This year's Dedicated Service Awards honored the following people:

Joe Krenowicz	David Jenson	Alison Nelson-Robertson
Central Oregon CC	Klamath CC	Oregon Coast CC
8 years	12 years	8 years
Jackie Franke	Matt Keating	Denise Frisbee
<b>Jackie Franke</b> Chemeketa CC	<b>Matt Keating</b> Lane CC	<b>Denise Frisbee</b> Portland CC



Jim Merryman

Ken Hector Chemeketa CC 8 years

rs Linn-Benton CC 8 years

Jim Harper Portland CC 16 years

Ron Pittman Chemeketa CC 16 years James (Jim) Zordich Mt. Hood CC 8 years Roger Findley
Treasure Valley CC
8 years

Al King Klamath CC 12 years

**Debbie Kilduff**Oregon Coast CC
8 years

**Dr. Preus** was surprised with having the honor of a new award presented in her name. The "Cam Preus Award for Extraordinary Contribution to Oregon's Community Colleges" is intended for a current or former employee of an Oregon community college with a proven track record of extraordinary commitment to student access and success, at least 15 years of service in the field, and significant positive impact within the Oregon community college sector. The award recognizes individuals whose work, like that of Dr. Preus, has demonstrated statewide reach. The first recipient of the award was Jim Eustrom, Chemeketa Community College vice president and president of Chemeketa's Yamhill Valley Campus.

"I thought about all the people who came before me who had done such incredible things, and all of the people this award could have been named for," Dr. Preus said. "So many of my mentors were as deserving, if not more. You don't get to this place by leading the band alone. I'm humbled to have this amazing recognition."

Nearly 200 people participated in the 2020 OCCA Annual Conference virtually, which set a record for conference participation. Thanks to generous sponsors, the virtual conference was made available to community college board members, administrators and staff for free this year.

###

The OCCA represents the seventeen publicly chartered community colleges and their locally elected board members. Founded in 1962, OCCA is an association whose purpose is to support the colleges before policy-makers and partners whose actions affect the well-being of community colleges across the state.