

April 8, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Casey White-Zollman, Communications Director casey@occa17.com | 503-502-5642

OCCA announces 2024 All-Oregon Academic Team

SALEM, Ore. – Oregon Community College Association is honored to announce the selection of 55 members from community colleges across the state to the 2024 All-Oregon Academic Team (AOAT). These outstanding student scholars are selected for their academic excellence, leadership, and community service, and many are members of Phi Theta Kappa, the nation's community college honor society.

"Congratulations to these outstanding scholars for their exceptional achievements in academics, leadership, and community service," said OCCA Board President Jane Ried. "We eagerly anticipate honoring them at the upcoming luncheon to recognize their accomplishments."

Each year, Phi Theta Kappa, community college presidents, and community college state associations like OCCA sponsor All-State Community College Academic Team ceremonies in 37 participating states. OCCA will host the All-Oregon Academic Team Luncheon April 19 at Chemeketa Community College's Eola Center in Salem, Ore., to honor AOAT students and their families. The AOAT luncheon's keynote speaker is Representative Tawna Sanchez (D-Portland), who is a strong advocate for education.

In addition, the OCCA Member Services Committee selects several students from the 55 outstanding scholars to serve as speakers at the recognition luncheon. This year's speakers include Chad Doherty of Blue Mountain Community College, Kayla Kelly of Treasure Valley Community College, Salome Alford of Columbia Gorge Community College, and Jessica "Jay" Benke of Mt. Hood Community College.

"Their stories are powerful and inspiring, and OCCA would like to thank these students for their willingness and courage to share their experiences with everyone at the luncheon," Reid said.

In addition, two AOAT students were designated as Coca-Cola New Century Scholars for earning the highest All-USA Academic Team application score for Oregon: Matthew Ebner from Klamath Community College was named a New Century Transfer Scholar, and Jai Johnson from Portland Community College was named a New Century Workforce Scholar.

Additionally, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team each year, which recognizes high-achieving students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society. Nationally, 50 students are selected as Gold Scholars and receive \$1,500 scholarships, 50 are selected as Silver Scholars and receive \$1,250 scholarships, and 50 students nationally are selected as Bronze Scholars and receive \$1,000 scholarships. Kris Kent from Central Oregon Community College, Genevieve Foley from Clackamas Community College, Christina Reid from Clatsop



Community College, and Gina Giangiobbe from Portland Community College were all selected as Bronze Scholars.

Please see the attached document for a full list of the outstanding student scholars selected to the 2024 All-Oregon Academic Team.

###

The Oregon Community College Association (OCCA) represents the 17 publicly chartered community colleges and their locally elected board members in Oregon. Founded in 1962, OCCA's purpose is to support the colleges before policy-makers and partners whose actions affect the well-being of community colleges across the state.